Wishing I Wasn’t Right

The long slow ride to hell in a hand basket that we have been on here in these Untied States for at least five or six decades has picked up speed over the past few weeks.  His Hopefulness, our regnant president God help us all, is lightening the load for us so the trip will be both quicker and just that more dangerous, so to make it all worth our while; sort of like the last ride on the roller coaster before the park closes.  (Goodness, I almost wrote “repugnant president” back there a few lines.  Whew!)

You recall, of course, how he got rid of our First Liberty shortly after he sat behind the big desk down there.  The First Liberty you ask?  Don’t you remember your Fifth Grade US History; LIFE, Liberty and that happiness thing?  (No, not the one with feathers, silly.  That’s Obama.)  Why, the fellow did exactly what he promised; part of restoring hope and being the change we can be, or something.  He signed an order saying we were going to start funding abortions overseas.  So much for life.  For all the poor folks who couldn’t afford to kill their children we’d be happy to pay for the job to be done.  It’s about the only promise he’s kept, except for what he’s gone and done now.

Now, he’s all about chucking the First Freedom.  He telegraphed the punch not too long ago when he ordered the State Department to stop worrying about whether or not folks were being thrown in jail, tortured or killed because of their religion.  Why, you probably want to know, should we stop paying attention to all of that stuff? Well, as near as I can figure it religion isn’t any longer something that we should be connected with, or to or by.  Religion is messy.  It’s got codes, and doctrines and dogmas and commandments.  What’s better is Worship.  It’s simple, you can do it anywhere, and, plus, it’s always Hopeful.  Where religion might get you all in a twist if you don’t do what it says you ought to be doing, worship is whatever you want it to be; like playing golf, or a vacation in Hawaii on your Uncle’s dime with 500 of your close friends.

So, now, it’s Freedom of Worship instead of Freedom of Religion.  The new, updated, streamlined version; Religion Lite, guaranteed to leave you feeling satisfied yet wanting more.

Anyway, he chucked the First Freedom over the side on January 20th when his HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebelius practically made it impossible for anyone with a conscience to remain a citizen of the place.  Either you pony up for someone to get all sorts of preventive meds  or you pay a fine.  So, you ask, what’s wrong with helping someone get the things they need to keep them healthy or cure an illness.  Nothing, I say, except if the illness in question is pregnancy, which if it is it means that God made a mistake somewhere along the line.  Assuming, of course that there is that thing called God.

Anyway, this goes against some long held, admittedly unscientific and merely religious (THAT darn word) beliefs, and the usual suspects have kicked back…the Catholics, of whom I happen to be one, and their priests, bishops and assorted long black robe wearers; plus a few other outliers, a Baptist or two, a Jew or two.

_________________________________________________________________________

All I have to say is, “It sure took you long enough!”  Like I said above, this has been going on for a long time, and it ain’t like folks have been standing around eating popcorn waiting for a seat in the hand-basket, talking about what a great time they’re going to have. Not at all.

Back in 1992, the man from Hope..ain’t it funny?…ordered up a blue ribbon commission to study the matter of embryonic stem cells and how we could cash in on all the great things they would do once we got them lined up right.  Now, what you have to do with them to get them to grow is kill the embryos they are in and then …  Well, that’s enough, as far as I needed to go, I mean… the killing embryos thing.  I was interested in not seeing that happen, and kind of horrified that we even thought it was a good thing.  I wondered if someone had been to the Mengele Academy of Medicine where stuff like that was a required course.

Could I get anyone interested?  Could I, say, get a Bishop interested?  Not on your life.  As a matter of fact when I approached my own bishop once he literally ran away from me.

But, now, Thank God! they seem to be aware that the house is tumbling, the timbers rotted, the foundation crumbling, the roof leaking.  I sure hope they can make the necessary repairs, and I’m happy to help any way I can.  Because I happen to think that if this becomes a done deal we can kiss the flag, the Republic for which it stands, the one nation under God, and liberty and justice for all a fond goodbye.  But I wonder.

Last night I had a conversation with a couple of friends.  We spoke about how good it was to see the swift reaction of the Bishops and the Catholic Church to what really is an outrageous power play.  And, I demurred somewhat from that view.  I wished that something as forceful had been done back in 1992.  I wished that something as indignant had been said in 1973.  Alas.  Then, I read this little essay by a very smart guy this morning.  I offer it to you that you may read and understand what I mean.

This is a hugely interesting essay, and one with which I find much to agree, though the author takes a turn to the right I would drive by. But pay close, close attention to what he has to say at this point about half way through: “In my lifetime, to my increasing regret, the Roman Catholic Church in the United States has lost much of its moral authority. It has done so largely because it has subordinated its teaching of Catholic moral doctrine to its ambitions regarding an expansion of the administrative entitlements state. In 1973, when the Supreme Court made its decision in Roe v. Wade, had the bishops, priests, and nuns screamed bloody murder and declared war, as they have recently done, the decision would have been reversed”

Like I said, I was talking about this last night with some friends. It’s amazing, sometimes how smart I can think I am…and how I wish I wasn’t this time.

Yeah, yeah, I know:  “The battle belongs to the Lord.”  But, did we have to give the other side so much ground?  This is no place for Rope-a-Dope.

About Peadar Ban

There isn't much to say. I am here. I am here. I am here.
This entry was posted in Conscience Clause, Faith, Health Insurance, HHS, Hope, Kathleen Sebellius, Lies We Hide Behind, Truth, US Bishops, USCCB and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wishing I Wasn’t Right

  1. Jeannie Gilman says:

    Is anyone listening?

Leave a Reply

